Why Aren’t People Talking About Me Behind My Back?

#Successful

The Good Greatsby

They say ‘success breeds envy,’ and I spend a lot of time wondering: If I’m as successful as I think, why aren’t more people envious of me? And when I say ‘why aren’t more people envious of me?’ I could just as easily write, ‘why aren’t any people envious of me?’

And why aren’t more people talking trash about me behind my back? After thirty-five years of major successes, the only person I’m certain talks behind my back is my mom. And I’m not even sure I can count my mom’s criticism as taking place behind my back since it usually starts to my face, and she just keeps talking as I walk away.

You know that awkward feeling you get when you approach a group of people and they suddenly stop talking and everyone wears an awkward expression, and you realize they had just been talking about you?

I…

View original post 319 more words

Leave a Reply

